A little bit about me

Hello there.  My name's Darren and I'm in my 40s.  I'm English and live in Devon in the southwest of England, although I was born and grew up near Cambridge.  I've taught English online and in language schools, and these days I mainly teach English and Business English to adults based in Europe and Asia.

I speak good German and I can offer training in English with optional German support.

I have a lot of experience in adult learning

I've worked in areas related to adult training, and learning and development for over 20 years.  I know how to help you learn effectively, in ways that suit you.

With me you'll develop practical language skills that'll help you in your everyday life, whether it's for work or more for leisure. Each lesson has a clear learning objective, which you'll achieve with step-by-step practice until what you've learned feels natural and until you feel confident to use it without support.  You'll also review your learning on a regular basis to help you to remember what you've learned.

See my qualifications.

I'm very friendly and patient

I've also helped British adults who left school with limited qualifications to improve their basic reading and writing skills.  I find it incredibly rewarding to help others to develop their confidence, skills and knowledge. 

Read what some of my students have said.

I know the business world

I've worked in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors and, before I became a language trainer, I worked in Learning & Development in Human Resources.  I'm a member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development (CIPD) and I also have experience in Sales, Customer Service and Quality.  

How can Darren help me?